Air Squadron

The long sobs of the violins of autumn….

WW2 Poem by Alun Lewis : “The Sentry”

with 6 comments

I have begun to die.
For now at last I know
That there is no escape
From Night. Not any dream
Nor breathless images of sleep
Touch my bat’s-eyes. I hang
Leathery-arid from the hidden roof
Of Night, and sleeplessly
I watch within sleeps province.
I have left
The lovely bodies of the boy and girl
Deep in each other’s placid arms;
And I have left
The beautiful lanes of sleep
That barefoot lovers follow to this last
Cold shore of thought I guard.
I have begun to die
And the guns’ implacable silence
Is my black interim, my youth and age,
In the flower of fury, the folded poppy,
Night.

Soundtrack of the day : Ólafur Arnalds – Þú ert sólin

Written by Air Squadron

March 4, 2012 at 5:18 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FANTASTIC – LOVE THIS!

    momentumofjoy

    March 16, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  2. Wow, beautiful and haunting. Evokes such feeling… I like it.

    kappers4

    March 13, 2012 at 3:58 am

  3. Hi Airsquadrron

    I just nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Awards .
    Good Luck and congratulation.
    Best Regards
    Hari Chana
    ps check the rule on my site.

    Hari Chana

    March 6, 2012 at 10:11 pm

  4. A sad poem, very. Yet words elevate it, beautifully.

    WordsFallFromMyEyes

    March 5, 2012 at 2:18 pm

  5. Great writing here.

    If I HAD to pick a favorite part, then this . . .”In the flower of fury, the folded poppy,
    Night.”

    Wow.

    Cayman Thorn

    March 4, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  6. what a beautiful, sad poem. perfect music to accompany. (thanks for looking at my blog. I’ll be back.) SB

    singingbones

    March 4, 2012 at 1:15 pm


Leave a Reply

